song: “A Safe Story”

Note that this video expresses the intended spirit of the lyrics:

 

I can feel your fear                        though you call it pain
you fear someone might see      emotion showing on your face
I can feel your fear                        though you call it rage
you fear what once happened      ever happening again

I can feel your fear                         though you call it grief

you fear how you will live            without the crutch you have to leave
I can feel your fear                         though you call it me
you fear social threats                  so you present a safe story
it’s an adaption
of habit, a learned practice
a coping mechanism
an act that you perform
a role you always play
some lines you always say
a response to pressure
an ideal of holy rebel to which you conform
Who is to blame for revealing your shameful emotions?
Is it one villain or a whole nation of enemies?
Condemn the evil one. Name your betrayer….
Who threatens you so much that you need a savior?
Suppress the negative. Negate suppression.
Focus on the positive, like anti-animosity.
Your words are curses, spells you keep casting on yourself,
ideas you worship like that you need someone to help
To help you… stay distracted from the reality you fear:
that your entire persona is a fake drama in a theater.
But is it scary… to re-read the scripts you wrote?
Those scripts were your path to safety, you dope!
I can feel your fear                        though you call it pain
you fear someone might see      emotion showing on your face
I can feel your fear                        though you call it rage
you fear what once happened      ever happening again

I can feel your fear                         though you call it grief

you fear how you will live            without the crutch you have to leave
I can feel your fear                         though you call it me
you fear social threats                  so you present a safe story
Your life as an adult has been full of competition
such as battles for the glory of political correctness
to be the purest perfectionist, the best ever ventriloquist
put your head up your ass so far you don’t see your moving lips
even looking in a mirror still you can’t see your script
because your script says you’re sincere (or at least you should be)
Pay no attention to the one behind the wizard’s curtain
Who? me? No, these aren’t levers in my voting booth!
See, there’s no blood on my hands because I’m wearing gloves.
I pull the levers of my life, sure, but I just blame the drugs.
I can feel your fear                        though you call it pain
you fear someone might see      emotion showing on your face
I can feel your fear                        though you call it rage
you fear what once happened      ever happening again

I can feel your fear                         though you call it grief

you fear how you will live            without the crutch you have to leave
I can feel your fear                         though you call it me
you fear social threats                  so you present a safe story
Leave a Reply

