PEOPLE LIKE ME

PEOPLE LIKE ME

Before a single word, life was simpler (By a little bit, but no more than that).
I got afraid with no name for my fear and no shame…. I threw tantrums like a jealous bull full of rage
I felt sad like that statue with the puppy dog eyes and I wanted to make the powerful smile at me

Tell me that I am safe from all of them Make me believe what you’re saying
Train me to look away from what frightens me for I never want the tyrant to ever notice me

In schools they showed me what they value they led my focus to their list of approved subjects
they directed me to repeat anything…. rewarding me, but under threat of embarrassment
They taught me untested hypothesis and said it’s science… to just put it on the test and stop asking questions
There is no controversy in the empire’s science class unless according to allowed scripts in the study guide

They taught me that some emotions are bad (at least bad in the system)
They ridiculed me for coloring outside the lines
I learned their games and played them day after day
and I forgot how life used to be so simple

Show me the role that you want me to fill. Give me the lines that you want me to say
Assign my character and I’ll play my part and if the audience gives me a standing ovation
I will look down from the stage at them with pity that’s politely hidden

Tell me that I am safe from all of them. Make me believe what you’re saying
Train me to look away from what frightens me for I never want the tyrant to ever notice me

I learned their sacred presumptions and clung to programmed expectations
I hid my jealousy for those without my lasting distress
or were they fooling me (like I tried fooling them) Did they envy me for pretending so well to be calm
and anyone who seemed to see through my pretenses, I would target as the worst of enemies
flooding with distractions… pouring accusations…¬†assassinating the character of the messenger

Tell me that I am safe from… all people like me. Make me believe what you’re saying
Train me to look away from what frightens me for I never want the tyrant to ever notice me

People like me. People like me, right? People must like my performance of their favorite roles.
Don’t they believe me when I tell them that they’re safe… from the tyrant that we all call our savior?
Santa, please help me to deceive the children. People like me when I tell them what they like, right?
We’re all so smart here. We’re all so safe… for we know how to repeat holy slogans.

choir

Leave a Reply

