video: “A better perfectionist”

​I’ve been competing for the world’s best perfectionist

for medals and parades and a big headstone​
All the world would love me, especially that one girl
My life would be heaven and not just because of her, no
Well, I was half way to my utopian paradise
when my life ruined everything (which actually was better)
I saw through the story of how I shouldn’t be
and decades of tension melted right out of me
If only I’d been born wiser
I wouldn’t have had so much to learn
If only I’d been born older
I wouldn’t have been so immature
if only…
if only…
God would have made me a better perfectionist
I started making jokes about some slight over-reactions,
then popular hysterias, then the most sacred myths
I noticed some people laughed and others only squirmed
then the hecklers started and I thought “maybe I should quit”
cuz they were half way to their utopian paradise
when my jokes stopped being funny and they got a bit upset
while worshiping some story of how life shouldn’t be
and decades of suppressed rage were targeting me
If only I’d been born wiser
I wouldn’t have had so much to learn
If only I’d been born older
I wouldn’t have been so immature
if only…
if only…
God would have made me a better perfectionist
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

