The criticism or complaint of “You are just Lazy!”

Hey Amras, here is a “copied & pasted” conversation for you and other regular subscribers. You can read through my comments or the whole thing. If you want me to include any of the “see more” sections, let me know.

Robin Brooks

“You are just Lazy!” I am curious if any of you have heard this from your family members when you complain about your health issues or fatigue?

LikeLike · 
  • Danny Scollan and 4 others like this.
  • Starr Dus no, but i do see it in others, its almost as if tey are all masochist n love to whine instead of work hard for health
    June 19 at 5:08pm · Edited · Unlike · 2

    • Susan Po There is no such thing as lazy. People who lack energy, lack health, the term lazy is just an outcome of a lack of tolerance towards those who lack vitality. Any acceptance of this idea is an outcome of ignorance about the relationship between health, vitality and the drive and ability to be active and expressive in actualizing personal self-interest. Laziness or inactivity is a response to stress and is not a natural state for people who are healthy. Those who suffer from this form of inactivity are sick and stressed and are usually ignorant of the relationship.

  • Robin Brooks gosh, I love this description Susan! Thanks
  • J R Fibonacci Hunn There is a middle ground between what Starr Dus said and what Susan Po said. Lazy of course is an actual word. As a word, it is real.

    Further, there are neurological momentums of chronic tension which block flexibility and efficiency (power, coordination, etc). These patterns of thinking, speaking, and muscular tension tend to produce exhaustion rather quickly.

    So, we can say that some people “whine a lot instead of working hard.” That is a valid observation. Also, many work very hard without working very smart and end up injuring themselves or simply producing very little, such as by investing lots of time and money in to certain conventional medical interventions.

    When someone is labeled “lazy,” we can think of that as an act of social invalidation or psychological warfare. It is a dismissive thing to say. If I hire 20 employees to all do the same thing and 3 of them regularly request longer breaks than everyone else, it is understandable to call them “lazy” and then fire them and replace them with people who can work with more endurance. 

    Most people on this group have a “healthy contempt” for mainstream medicine and we might say that “most MDs are intellectually lazy.” In other words, they are rich enough that they do not perceive the need to be more competent in regard to promoting health. As long as there are lots of desperate patients with very low standards and lots of money to waste, then the current mainstream medical paradigm will be supported.

  • Valerie Steinfeld AV said to me that people who didn’t follow the diet, did so out of laziness. Really I suppose what he meant if you want to take a broader perspective and allow many paths as possible paths to the goal… is that people that don’t take the time to make improving health a priority are lazy. He was very dedicated. More than most. Extremely so! An admirable example, don’t you think?
  • Susan Po It’s a real word, the conflict is with the intention behind the use of the term and the emotions that cause one to use it. These are usually a result of some resentment or embitterment experienced as a result of someone’s lack of activity in comparisonSee More
  • Susan Po Valerie, it’s a value judgment. It’s something people say because they are unable to experience what someone else is feeling and the conditions that cause them to behave the way they do. We are all in the dark when it comes to that—we cannot feel whaSee More
  • Robin Brooks I also think it can be used as a projection too. Some people are just too “lazy” to be a good friend, parent or sibling to those that are unwell. So calling them lazy is an easy out for selfish people.
  • Valerie Steinfeld Susan, I can really relate to the idea that it takes a long time to understand “true health”. This has been so for me. 

    Many words can have the possibility of being a value judgement upon another. “Lazy”, “Selfish”, “Religious”, “Extreme” all can appSee More

  • Siena Songbird What a beautiful communication thread. Thanks for bringing this up. Day after day I am actually pretty flabbergasted at my own lack of vitality. As my back aches from trying to stand up and my chest feels to weak to breathe properly there is something See More
  • J R Fibonacci Hunn Susan Po, resentment and bitterness are also valid patterns of relating. Consider the irony of this:

    “People should not be resentful. I resent them for being resentful!”

    The word lazy carries a certain amount of precision and a certain amount of imprecision. I have experienced plenty of fatigue.

    Fatigue can come from dehydration, lack os sleep, hormonal inmbalance, electromagnetic imbalance (such as electrocution or acidosis/acidity), starvation, or hyperventilation (since having lots of oxygen available is not the same as getting it inside the the brain cells). The research I have seen lately is that the average civilized person is typically in a state of moderate hyperventilation constantly (anxiety, stress, borderline hysteria). In everyday life, we can see this in regard to a few words with some political connotation lead to an argument. Or, someone says “you are lazy” and a cascade of stress hormoness and biochemical panic surfaces. That is a hyperventilated development. Many people live on the edge of it.

    In my experience, many people on this group are challenged by stress. They are vulnerable to antagonism and arguing. They may have several issues besides “breathing to excess.” Intellectually, they may be lazy- as in desperately fixated on a single issue or researcher and otherwise dismissive of science, as in a terrified arrogance.

    So, back to the word “lazy,” if I am hiring athletes for my pro team, I do not want “lazy” players. If I am purchasing horses to work on my farm, I do not want lazy horses. 

    Empathy is a distinct issue. I can totally understand that some are”lazy” and even have been lazy myself- and even know precisely how to alter “lazy.” Still, I may prefer identifying those who are already “hard-working” and invest my time and focus on them.

    The idea that I “owe” it to someone to rescue them from their “laziness” is a valid idea, but not very appealing to me. If they are lazy, but willing, respectful, curious, and able to compensate me, then maybe I help them alter their “laziness.”

  • Susan Po Valerie, I share your ideal. I am glad my response was useful to those who have felt persecuted by this term. My rationale is strictly related to my own experience with lethargy and lack of capacity in making initiative and the complete eradication of See More
  • Valerie Steinfeld Susan Po, I admire your use of words! I don’t think condemnation of others is a helpful way to respond in general in life. Words can only go so far and I don’t find interest in debating a right or wrong scenario. Not sure if that is your premise. I See More
  • Susan Po I did not intend to equate dieing with laziness, only tried to show that lethargy exists on a spectrum that all of us fall on, given that we all lose energy, deteriorate and die. Not sure what you are referring to about your reason for using a term. Can you clarify? I did not pose the question to you, but to JR. Enjoy your soak. 
  • Valerie Steinfeld Hi Susan!!! Thanks! Not sure anymore…no matter! I am definitely cooked!
  • J R Fibonacci Hunn Hi Susan Po, I read your comment beginning with “it’s a real word” and did not see any question in it. Your other comments begin focusing on Valerie and I did not see any questions in those either.

    I will say that ideas like “more people being of more benefit to the world” are not priorities for me. Other than that, everything else I saw that you wrote looks more or less “identical” to my perspective.

  • J R Fibonacci Hunn For most people, saying “you are just lazy” probably means “I have no idea how to help you and I do not have any special interest in learning how either.” We could resent them for that or simply let it go.

    Sharing on a group like this, we notice that we all have faced disappointment when other people seem critical of our choices and/our experience. Robin Brooks mentioned “family members” in particular, so that disappointment can be more intense in that case for sure.

  • J R Fibonacci Hunn I also know that in the case of family members, I was not the only one disappointed. They were disappointed that I was not more active, awake, alert, able-bodied, strong, vibrant, etc….
  • J R Fibonacci Hunn If their disappointment is not expressed or relieved, it can build to frustration and resentment, then condemnation. “You are just lazy” may be what a family member says because they are interested in your contribution, but they have nearly given up. Finally, as a last resort of desperation and withdrawal, then they may say “you are lazy” to test to see if “the lazy person” is actually “just faking it.”

    “Oh, you’re right. You caught me. I was just faking it. I was playing sick to get attention and to get out of going to ____. Now that you have called my bluff- ha ha- I guess I better get to work, huh?!?!”

Leave a Reply

