An empire of fear

Before I showed up, there were already expectations.​.. from parents, grandparents, doctors, and nations.

A nation wants soldiers and hard-working taxpayers. The doctors want a tough case with expensive layers.
The family wants a bunch of things that may sometimes conflict. With all these expectations, some are certain not to fit.
So, I’ve failed to meet some of those conflicting expectations.
If an ideal is widespread, then more exceptions are certain.
I’ve been examined and measured and labeled and dismissed.
Also, whether or not anyone loved me, I’ve lived.
I know they all had motives and agendas and desires. Of course they would. Should I complain that flames are made of fire?
Some models of perfection do not perfectly fit me. I could rebel and say “that model’s not for me.”
Or I could relax… just give up my heroic rebellions. All of that was still trying to fit some model of perfection.
I’m unique… and I respect some traditions more than others. The wise are alert to expectations… to reduce suffering.
An empire of fear is here in our midst, but a culture of guilt cannot bear the truth.
A religion of shame must name an enemy. So, a war of terror could be the perfect distraction.

A nation wants soldiers and hard-working taxpayers… plus, maybe some priests to tell the people their prayers.

“If you kill for our cause, then you will go to heaven. If you fail to do your duty, hell is your punishment.”

Confusion is good for organizing herds efficiently. To manage human resources, stress is the key.
Chronic distress without panic is best. Paranoia is great; worship the fear of fear itself.
An empire of fear is here in our midst, but a culture of guilt cannot bear the truth.
A religion of shame must name an enemy. So, a war of terror could be the perfect distraction.

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

