On the advice of the blind

When a blind man tells me what I should see

Do I value it any differently
Then if a camera man looks around and shows what he sees…
then asks me a question I’ve never conceived?
Watch me: I got a paycheck to read off a script
I rehearse each line and then I repeat it.
Do I understand? Well, maybe or maybe not-

understanding too much gets you fired from some jobs.

Think of a bimbo reading lines. Do you like her voice?

She says what you expect and all with such poise.
Why? Maybe she doesn’t know a word of English.

But she makes the noises to earn the paychecks (yes, like phone sex…).

Now, why does her paper have value at all?

Why can she trade it to get things that she wants?
Why do the masses work so hard for that money?
To pay the taxes that keep cops from coming
to take them to jail and sell all their stuff
because the cops got copters and dogs and guns.
By the way, they got a lot of them, too- not just one.
They supervise the workers like on a plantation.
So, if these soldiers come, then give them some funds.
But if those soldiers come, then you better run.
Because the blind bimbo said only good soldiers are real.
The bad ones are evil (for when they take, they steal).
That’s not like the good ones… who only take taxes.
See, the bad ones extort through protection rackets.
That’s totally different!
(according to the script… that I was paid by one warlord to repeat and publish).
So, if you can hire and fire soldiers, then they are good to you.
But if some soldiers hunt after you, then those are bad to you.
Now, my street gang is called the cops and our uniforms are black.
Some gangs wear a bandana, but we wear badges and hats.
Fools will test us, but our ranks are healthy and deep.
We swear an oath that we intend to keep…
Unlike the other gangs that you may have also seen.
Yes, they have oaths, too, but their oath is deceit.
We never lie, no, not even when undercover.
We never use unmarked cars or wear wires, cause that’s cheating, my brother.
We are honest cops, or at least most of us are, right?
and I apologize for the few who gave us a bad rep… like
in The Inquisition and during prohibition
and the ones on television who shot that evil politician.
See, we’re an old gang. It’s a “Knights of the Temple” thing.
Like when the Prophet Moses told his soldiers who to bring
to the holy ritual of human sacrificing.
“Kill the boys and the mothers, but spare all the virgins.”
What? You didn’t read that verse yet in the book you worship?
Well, that’s a strange thing, you blind man, cause you talk like you know it.

When a blind man tells me what I should see
Do I value it any differently
Then if a camera man looks around and shows what he sees…
then asks me a question I’ve never conceived?

Tags:

Leave a Reply

