DEVIL OF A GOD (the truth will set you free… after pissing you off)

Now, we got to tell you all what’s wrong    and how to fix it                  first, you shouldn’t be so frustrated            stop your bitchin’
Next, you shouldn’t be so complicated       talking fiction                       truth sets you free if you let it               but your mind is itching
scratching the surface of your bullshit religion                                        you worship it as your crutch             yet you question it
plus you need a bridge to get to heaven   (cause you’re not in it)         and you’re terrified of hell fire,     shame on you, sinner
You lack the faith of a mustard seed, but                                                    You still assume that you’re wise enough to judge
so I got to cover my mouth when you talk                                                  cause I’m trying not to laugh at your version of God
If God is the maker of all creations                                                                  then why’s your so-called God so afraid of Satan?
You don’t worship God, no you worship your religion                                You disrespect God in the name of tradition
Cause God didn’t do it like you wanted, right?                                           So you pray to Santa Claus with all your might
but Santa is a myth to keep you quiet at night                                         cause little kids will believe anything when their parents lie
Boom… goes the truth    Ba Ba Ba Boom
You should feel humble when your plans don’t work                              But you feel guilty, so you blame some jerk
for what you didn’t do and what you didn’t get                                         for victimizing you with condemnation
Well, drop the people who don’t do you how you like                               Stop trying to make a tricycle a bike
I was an arrogant fool, sincere and naive                                                   scapegoating anybody who I thought I was in my way
and if an elephant is in the middle of the room                                        then I might as well stay close to the wall to move
through to the other side if that’s what I want to do                               why’d you want to stand there and whine? What’re ya trying to prove?
You say you lack the power of a mustard seed, but                                  You still assume that you’re wise enough to judge
so I got to cover my mouth when you talk                                                  cause I’m trying not to laugh at your version of God
If God is the maker of all creations                                                                  then why’s your so-called God so afraid of Satan?
You don’t worship God, no you worship your religion                               You disrespect God in the name of tradition
Cause God did some things that you didn’t like, right?                          So you pray to whoever with all your might
to prove God wrong, yeah, just out of spite                                                Show God who’s boss, Master, show him the light
Yeah, I got to cover my mouth when you talk                                          cause I’m trying not to laugh at your devil of a God
Boom… goes the truth    Ba Ba Ba Boom… goes the truth                      Ba Ba Ba Boom… goes the truth           Ba Ba Ba Boom…
So, how many times should I forgive? Until I chill?                                 But my villain doesn’t seem to have remorse! Should I still?
It’s almost like you’re saying to withdraw contempt.                              No, I still condemn what I still resent!
Yes, some sacrifice peace to hold on to hate                                                 and then claim to know better than God as they pray
to the one who promises all the things they crave                                    to the devil who sells them a world to save
What? Listen, if the world is already saved                                                then what should I do for the rest of the day?
I could make up some myths to influence the slaves                               I could train them to think of power as rage
Then train them to rage at my favorite tricks                                          They will say “that’s just disgusting. It should be fixed.”                                         Plus, I treat them to candy if they play by my rules                               “The path to salvation is compliance,” say my fools.
You’re jealous of the size of a mustard seed, but                                         You still assume that you’re wise enough to judge
so I got to cover my mouth when you talk                                                  cause I’m trying not to laugh at your version of God
If God is the maker of all creations                                                                  then why’s your so-called God so afraid of Satan?
You don’t worship God, no you worship your religion                                You disrespect God in the name of tradition
Cause God didn’t do it like you wanted, right?                                           So you pray to Santa Claus with all your might
but Santa is a myth to keep you quiet at night                                         cause little kids will believe anything when their parents lie
Aw, God did some things that you didn’t like, right?                              So you pray to whoever with all your might
to prove God wrong, yeah, just out of spite                                                Show God who’s boss, Master, show him the light
Yeah, I got to cover my mouth when you talk                                          cause I’m trying not to laugh at your devil of a God
ba ba ba ba ba ba ba ba Boom… goes the truth                                         Ba Ba Ba Boom… goes the truth
Ba Ba Ba Boom… goes the truth                                                                       Ba Ba Ba Boom…
 
   
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

