Santa Claus is the God of paranoia

She fooled me               She lied and deceived me                                      She got me                    to do what she wanted
She schooled me          she tricked me, confused me and ruled me      as I followed her lead
 
“Santa Claus is the God always watching                                      so better do as I say cause the haunting
is about to begin and you’re stopping                                              your playful ways to worship holy paranoia
 
Wait- you’ll go to hell if you think the wrong thought.             Hey- don’t you want to earn your way to heaven?
Wait- you’ll get coal if you don’t do what you’re taught.           Hey- if you make A’s, then the world will bow in reverence.
 
Santa Claus is the God always watching”


 
I blamed her            I named her the scapegoat                            I hated her power  her presence     her confidence
I questioned             how will I fake loyalty till my escape
I was a scared boy        even terrified                I learned to hide it    or at least I tried
I was a clever man      so slow to trust              quick to find gaping holes in logic
I want to make her mad     I want prove her wrong
I want to show her that I am the smarter one
I want to cause her shame    to return her my pain
I want to watch as she prays for mercy to Santa
but I’m a clever man    I know resentment        won’t bring me any closer to heaven
so I give her respect      I withdraw contempt    I forgive her of my condemnation
Yes, she fooled me               She lied and deceived me                                      She got me                    to do what she wanted
Yes, she schooled me          she tricked me, confused me and ruled me      as I followed her lead
I was a child             an ungrateful bastard           she kept me safe     for that I thank her
She did her thing   like a million other people    like all the churches    governments and media
Santa Claus is the God always watching            Santa Claus is the God always watching
Santa Claus is the God always watching            Santa Claus is the God of paranoia
 
Santa Claus is the God always watching                                      so better do as I say cause the haunting
is about to begin and you’re stopping                                             your playful ways to worship holy paranoia
 
Wait- you’ll go to hell if you think the wrong thought.             Hey- don’t you want to earn your way to heaven?
Wait- you’ll get coal if you don’t do what you’re taught.           Hey- if you make A’s, then the world will bow in reverence.


 
Santa Claus is the God always watching            Santa Claus is the God always watching
Santa Claus is the God always watching            Santa Claus is the God of paranoia
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

