consumerism vs materialism vs realism

  • Daniel Fritschler How is consumerism bad or avoidable….that is illogical….materialism to me has little to do with consumerism…it is above and beyond…we all live and let live- but by being a materialist, that isn’t exactly the philosophy we take on as we battle and compete for a bigger piece of the pie than will ever be needed.
  • J R Fibonacci Hunn I am not talking about the behavior of being a consumer of civilized conveniences. I am talking about the idealistic mindset in the background.
  • Daniel Fritschler ma·te·ri·al·ism (m-tîr–lzm)n.1. Philosophy The theory that physical matter is the only reality and that everything, including thought, feeling, mind, and will, can be explained in terms of matter and physical phenomena.2. The theory or attitude that physical well-being and worldly possessions constitute the greatest good and highest value in life.3. A great or excessive regard for worldly concerns.

    What does this have to do with consuming to live?

  • J R Fibonacci Hunn “Than will ever be needed” is entirely idealistic. You need to get back to basics: language, respect, and emotions, such as jealousy and rage.
  • Daniel Fritschler Fine….I don’t even know what you are talking about….nor do I care[.]  this article [the polygamy and homosexuality one]  is about lust….not about mental gymnastics
  • J R Fibonacci Hunn Um, I wrote it. I never mentioned lust. Do you want to say more about what you mean?
  • J R Fibonacci Hunn Okay, well if you give me 3 definitions of materialism, then it complicates things, but that is fair. The #2 definition you provided for materialism is related to what I mean by consumerism. Consumerism is about “ME” and social approval of me.

    It is not about family. It is not about what inspires me to give my life to, as far as mortality and future generations and so on.

  • J R Fibonacci Hunn My “ism” is that there is only one reality, which includes language. Language can divide reality in to material and spiritual, but that division is merely linguistic, symbolic, poetic.
    2 hours ago · Like · 1
  • J R Fibonacci Hunn I call that… realism.
    2 hours ago · Like · 1

    • J R Fibonacci Hunn As for definition #3 and an “excessive” regard for material things, I think that the term excessive already implies subjectivity. Perhaps an excessive regard for HOARDING is when what works is for me is to collaborate with my associates (or prospective associates). I could partner and ally with them to create value together through our isolated skills and resources. However, to denounce hoarding is not in conflict with materialism, but the absolute pinnacle of materialistic concerns.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

