music video: “When I was a fool”

Once I do enough… then will I finally be good?
Will I earn the love… that I know that I should want more
than anything else, even more than life itself?
I got to have it, got to get it, got to almost but never quite feel.
 
I talk about it lots, and look in the books on my shelf
I’m going to get to heaven, soon as I get out of hell
Yeah, I would be there now, but I’ve got so much to do
important things to keep up my habitual excuse.
 
 
When I was a fool, I didn’t know
I said I was the ruler of all I controlled
 
The She Devil

The She Devil (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 
If it wasn’t for the people who helped me be who I am today
and if it wasn’t for the history that I insist is such a shame
then I would be forgiving and probably relaxed
and definitely grateful, but who really wants that?

(because it could turn out to be disappointing)
I have a lot to offer in regard to foolish games
I have so much experience in hypocrisy and blame
I am a master of evasion and the king of arrogance
I am the sensei of pre-emptive counter-attacks in self-defense
 
(alleged self-defense, but nevertheless…)
When I was a fool, I didn’t know
I said I was the ruler of all I controlled
When I was a devil, I had contempt
I said I was an angel who deserved to be worshiped
exclusively… because I was kind of jealous, you know?
Devil

Devil (Photo credit: elycefeliz)

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

