the function of a forbidden emotion: anger (by Ben Affleck)

Anger is an energy pattern that can break through the inhibitions of fear. That is it’s function.
Humor can also break through inhibitions of fear, but when the frightened suppression is greater than the power of the humor, the only immediate resolution to the fear is the panic of anger. Of course, fear can also subside over time (even dissolve), which can allow for humor to be newly effective.
Now let’s look at the function of fear more. The absence of fear does not establish safety. The presence of fear does not establish danger. So what is fear?
Fear is a signal of a perceived threat. What is threatened? Personal safety? A collective delusion? A proudly sincere pretense?
Fear is a signal for caution. Change focus. Be attentive to a possible risk.
When the rebellious intellectuals are terrified that Ben Affleck‘s movie role in Batman would be so interesting to the rest of the herd, they may make a condescending criticism. “The herd is so dumb. I set myself apart from them. I condescend on them.”
The intellectuals make a joke. They want to be seen as having insight and intelligence. “I am smarter than all of those folks who are obsessed about Ben Affleck because I am in no way focused on Ben Affleck (and no it is not ironic that I keep mentioning Ben Affleck and yet pretend not to be jealous of the attention that the herd gives Ben Affleck instead of my own great wisdom and insight and so on).”
When the fear of the masses is directed by the mainstream programming of terror, the masses may be trained to fixate their fear on a pre-packaged scandal or controversy, such as a proposed political reform (gun control, gay marriage, the cutting of social security benefits, “injust” justice court proceedings, the war in ____, abortion, GMO agriculture which kills bees, government spying on civilians, etc). The perception of the masses is directed and their emotional and behavioral responses are programmed. This influence is performed through movies, TV news, school curriculum, the sermon lessons duplicated throughout a particular bureaucracy of religious indoctrination, and so on.
The function of political theatrics in modern society may include the constant providing of outrageous scandals: “here is new evidence that the OTHER party is corrupt! Colin Powell lied in his testimony to Congress! Candidate X used marijuana! Governor Schwarzenegger not only raped several women, BUT he also had illegitimate children with 3 more than Clint Eastwood!”
English: Ben Affleck at the premiere for He's ...

English: Ben Affleck at the premiere for He’s Just Not That Into You. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Is any of that actually important? Sure it certainly could be at least… if important means “whatever triggers obsession in the herds and keeps them tuned in for the anti-depressant commercials.”
So, what is anger exactly? When I am angry at someone, I am testing them for guilt and groundedness, as well as for their propensity for aggression. I am bullying them. Can they respond to my threats with calmness and relevance? Here is an example from my life….
Years ago, I yelled “Hey!” at my mom when she was “abusive” to her grandson. I interrupted her verbal assault with my own verbal assault, though mine was a single word: “Hey!”
More words of anger were not needed. The intensity of my “hey” was enough to completely shock her out of her breathless, frustrated delirium of “how many times do I have to tell you [her grandson] not to….”
However, in the moment that her attention was broken away from her prior fixation and was now resting on me, what would I say next? Would I chastise her for her behavior and call it abusive? Would I question her gently and invite introspection?
No, I simply changed subjects. I had already interrupted her behavior, which is all that I really had in mind, so, in the moment that she was focused on me and waiting for me to continue, I thought up some other subject, some other activity to propose that would be more appealing to her vanity (self-worth) than for her to keep berating her grandson’s “offenses.” Maybe I would even later ask her what happened with all of the prior discharge and then just listen and agree and validate her emotions.”Yes, how annoying of him! You kept CLEARLY repeating what you did not want him to focus on.  But he is so much less smart than you are! What the heck, huh? Why did he not thank you for your sincerity and wisdom? I mean, why can’t he just be as smart as you!?!?! You had a valid reason to be so frustrated and abusive… because he really was not avoiding the thing that you kept reinforcing with your attention as a great way to get your anger. If he had wanted your attention, after all, he could have just asked, right? He just needs to grow up. He is 2 years old. He simply needs to grow up. He is only 2 years old. He needs to grow up, right? So, heh heh, would that be okay with you?”
By the way, humbling (humiliating) others can be done in a variety off ways: privately, publicly, humorously, viciously. I have humiliated others (like as a boss, a public school teacher, and a parent). I have also been humiliated by others (like by my bosses, by public school teachers, and by my mom, including that time she said “I love you” to me when I was “too old” and my friends could hear her… and GRRRRR!!!!!).
Fear arises. Anger arises. Perhaps even envy. Life is aroused!
It can be valuable sometimes to have conversations about this, but it can be important that respect and integrity be maintained. Further, can it also be fun (humorous)?Or, is that “too distracting?” If there is “too much” posturing, then the integrity of the exploration can devolve in to placation and a competition over personal sincerity, which is NOT what I mean by integrity.
Sincerity argues over “Who is at fault? Who did something wrong? What simply must be avoided? What terrifying pattern is forbidden? Don’t you congratulate me for having such good intentions, even if the actual results were unnotable?”
Those are entirely valid subjects of conversation. However, they are also optional. Everyone can set their own boundary for what they will invest in and how.
Sidenote: did you notice the immense amount of attention that has been generated by casting Ben Affleck as Batman? If you did not know that there was a new Batman movie coming out, you do now, right? You should probably watch it- not because it might be entertaining itself of course, but just to see how bad he is, to complain about what a horrible acting job he did, maybe even to say that you wish you were as famous and wealthy as such a horrible actor as him. You probably deserve to be cast as Batman more than him, right?

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

