music video: “rules written in the water”

rules written in the water
Illustration from a collection of myths.

Illustration from a collection of myths. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The devil said
I’ve got to earn my way in to heaven
to make up for my past-
so,
I need someone to love right now
and they should love me back
or else I’ll be stuck down here in hell 
(God knows I don’t want that)
so if I seem stressed or if I seem harsh
just know that I’ve got good reasons
now you better love me good
and you better love me right
and you better love me how I need 
or I will blame you 
for all my shame
and punish you for my frightened greed
 
If only the devil knew
that she was a holy fool
that all of her words were myths
that all of her myths were rules written in the water
Then the devil said
I’ve got to find every best solution
to any problem in the world
now I know who to blame
and I know who to praise
and I know who to ridicule
so you better agree
and you better help me
and you better pledge your share
cause I’m taking names
and I’m threatening rage
to prove that my plan is the answer to your prayers
 
If only the devil knew
that she was a holy fool
that all of her words were myths
that all of her myths were rules written in the water
and that’s why the devil is afraid of the storm


Then the devil said
I’ve got to earn my way in to heaven
Faith, Believes and Myths

Faith, Believes and Myths (Photo credit: ~FreeBirD®~)

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

