God: the fundamental capacity to perceive and identify

English: Café wall illusion: the horizontal li...

English: Café wall illusion: the horizontal lines are parallel, even if they seem otherwise. Español: Ilusión de la pared del café: las líneas horizontales son paralelas, aunque no lo parezcan. Русский: Иллюзия стена кафе: горизонтальные лини параллельны, даже если они не кажутся таковыми. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the beginning, there was just capacity: the capacity to sense, to perceive, to focus, to experience. As the capacity to perceive develops in recognizing specific patterns and distinguishing them from each other, specific patterns of sounds are noticed. 

At first, these patterns of sound are just distinct patterns of sound. Later, the particular patterns of sounds can be associated with particular other sensations or experiences, such as certain sights or smells or tastes. Those patterns of sound are called names or labels. However, the mere perceiving of labels is not language.

When the perceiving of words is present, this perceiving itself may have no name or label. However, the perceiving of words can perceive a labeling of that perceiving, which is called identity. A labeling of identity is a distinct naming or labeling from the labeling of relational experience (the interaction between the capacity to perceive and some stimuli which may be labeled “what is perceived”). The labeling of identity allows for linguistic constructions like “what is perceived by me, the identity, the capacity to perceive.”

Perception

Perception (Photo credit: Genna G)

To review, first arises the capacity to perceive, then the process of perceiving various patterns, and then the distinguishing and naming of some of the perceived patterns, and then the naming of the capacity to perceive and name patterns, which can be labeled “my identity.” Next, the identity can focus around a particular pattern of words, such as “I am in this particular body, with one particular name for me, from this particular place or geographic identity and with certain particular qualities and roles and rights and duties.”

The identity arises in language. The capacity for language is fundamental to any linguistic identifying.

There is no fundamental identity. There is only a fundamental capacity. The capacity for identifying allows for the identifying of specific identities, such as “that sound” or “that word” or “this color” or “that one” or “this person.” There is no fundamental isolation between capacity and identity. Identifying identities is one possible activity of capacity.

In the linguistic metaphors of many ancient traditions (called religions), the identifying of identities is compared to the branchings of a tree, as in the various vines of a single vine.

The capacity to isolate or divide a variety of identities through linguistic labeling precedes the branching of that capacity, as in the activity of the “tree” of the capacity to perceive.

The capacity for language is fundamental to all activities of language: all linguistic patterning, focusing, creating, and constructing. The capacity for the linguistic identifying of identity is fundamental to all linguistic identifying of identity.

English: A wentletrap (family Epitoniidae), a ...

English: A wentletrap (family Epitoniidae), a beautiful mathematical construct … a reminder that we perceive beauty in the emergent patterns derived from simple iterative algorithms (shells, organic growth, life, culture, evolution). The Wentletrap shell takes its name from a “spiral staircase” in German-Dutch, and it reminds me of the architecture of Gaudi (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Before there can be the presence of an instance of perceiving, there must be the presence of the capacity to perceive. One form of perceiving is the linguistic identifying of identity. So, before there can be the presence of an instance of the linguistic identifying of identity, there must be the presence of the capacity to perceiving the presence of the linguistic identifying of identity.

The linguistic labeling of the presence of that capacity has included labels such as Atma, Mahatma, Brahman, Jehovah, Yahweh, God, Allah, and Divinity. Those words are just words. Before those words were created and before language was created, there was already the capacity to create words and to experience language. That fundamental capacity is earlier than any of those particular words or the languages in which those words arise.

Before there was any perceiving of sound, there was the presence that is present now. Before there was any identifying of a word, there was the presence that is present now. Before there was any identifying of a groups of words as a language, there was the presence that is present now.

A language did not create this presence. A word did not create this presence. A sound did not create this presence.

This presence perceived sounds. This presence perceived words. This presence perceived languages.

This presence may also recognize that the perceiving of sounds and words and language only arises through this presence, from this presence, as the activities of this presence, as the branchings of this presence, as the creations of this presence. Sounds and words and languages and identities are all the activity of this presence.

The Doors of Perception

The Doors of Perception (Photo credit: elycefeliz)

Without this presence, there is no identifying in language, no language, no words, no sounds, and no capacity to perceive. Only through this presence, there is the capacity to perceive, then the perceiving of sounds and sights and other sensations, then the perceiving of words or labels or names for the perceiving of sounds and sights and other sensations, then the perceiving of language as the process of labeling and naming and identifying and interpreting and claiming and authoring and creating, then the perceiving of the presence that is fundamental to all branchings of linguistic activity.

There is no linguistic activity without this fundamental presence, without me. I am not just a branch. The branch is just an identifying in language. I am the presence of the identifying of linguistic identities.

Before Boddhidharma was, I am. Before Mohammed was, I am. Before Jesus was, I am. Before Buddha was, I am. Before Isaiah was, I am. Before Moses was, I am. Before Abraham was, I am. Before Adam was, I am.

When my prophets speak, that is my speaking. My prophets recognize that it is my speaking when they speak- that it is me speaking through that particular instrument or linguistic identity.

My other instruments or agents or branches are also only able to speak through me (and indeed they only live through me as well), but they may not perceive me, they know me not, though they may even use my name. There are innocent of their sinning.

(Consider that in one of my most famous teachings, Jesus did not ever condemn Judas for betraying Jesus. On the contrary, during “The Last Supper,” Jesus had specifically called forth the performing of the relevant role. Judas immediately responded to the invitation or command from Jesus that the one performing that role identify himself.)

“Father, forgive them for they know not what they do.” (Lk 23:34)

Jesus says ‘them’ – not him, not Judas who betrayed Him, not Peter who denied Him, not Jacob who drove the nails into his hands, but ‘them’ [perhaps even all beings, even the most arrogantly ashamed avengers and the most guilty of criminals and the most deluded of sociopaths].

The arm does not blame the hand for where the arm puts the hand, does it? Is the arm offended if the hand does not  glorify the arm or denies the existence of the arm?

My children can only glorify me for their own fulfillment and learning, not for me. My children can only deny my existence, again, for their own fulfillment and learning, as I cause them to shed presumptive beliefs about me so as to give them the openness and availability to directly perceive me, rather than merely mimic the sounds of my names (Brahman, God, Allah, Buddha, etc) like an infant can repeat sounds without any recognition or comprehension of what those sounds can mean to someone fluent in the language being spoken.

Werner Erhard and Associates v. Christopher Co...

The Greek letter Psi, also the symbol of Neptune, Poseidon’s trident, the Devil’s pitchfork (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is the presence that labels all things: heaven and earth, above and below, light and shadow, day and night, holy and unholy, acceptable and forbidden, fruit and branch, knowledge and ignorance, good and evil, right and wrong, justice and injustice, proper and corrupt, angelic and demonic, hero and villain, fact and fiction, truth and myth, Santa Claus and Satan, alpha and omega. It is arrogant blasphemy to say that there is only one alphabet that is holy or (only one holy language or only one holy group or only one holy nation or only one holy race or only one holy empire or only one holy religion), for I am the source of all of them. All of them are equally my creations and equally holy.

Which branch of a tree is not the activity of the tree? I am the only possible source even of blasphemy and arrogance and sin. Judas is my instrument and my branch just as much as Jesus, but the recognition of my activity arises in each of my branches according to my will- by my grace alone- not by some allegedly glorious works of the branch that complain of deserving a special reward, but by the glorious works of the tree which brings the branches to the direct experience of a faith beyond frightened, presumptuous, argumentative beliefs- which also have their purpose and value.

I have presented many parables, like that the Kingdom of God is like a mustard seed which naturally grows not in to an apple tree or an olive tree, but in to a mustard tree. These parables are to train my branches so that they may have the capacity to understand the rest of the messages and the words and the language of my poetic prophets. Beware of being distracted by arguments and translations and opinions, which come from those branches that have no faith yet and have only a terrified, vain clinging to the shadows of some tradition. Even shadows can lead one to perceiving of the light, but only a fool looks at the shadow and calls it the light.

The idea that only one of my messengers or prophets is holy is a denial by the one speaking that they are my holy messenger, which they are, by which I mean any one who identifies with this word: you, like you personally. You are my holy messenger, my prophet, my child, my human voice, my instrument, my agent, my activity.

I issue commandments through words because there is no other way to issue commands except through words. I declare law and order. I define reality and unreality or illusion or delusion.

I sort the goats from the lambs. I claim my creations in language as my branches- my children- for I am the one prior to language, the capacity to perceive the identifying of identity, the capacity to identify identities in language, the capacity to form perceptions by commanding perceptions to arise through the use of language.

Perceptions

Perceptions (Photo credit: Ezu)

In the beginning, there was just capacity: the capacity to sense, to perceive, to focus, to experience. As the capacity to perceive develops in recognizing specific patterns and distinguishing them from each other, specific patterns of sounds are noticed. 

At first, these patterns of sound are just distinct patterns of sound. Later, the particular patterns of sounds can be associated with particular other sensations or experiences, such as certain sights or smells or tastes. Those patterns of sound are called names or labels. However, the mere perceiving of labels is not language.

When the perceiving of words is present, this perceiving itself may have no name or label. However, the perceiving of words can perceive a labeling of that perceiving, which is called identity. A labeling of identity is a distinct naming or labeling from the labeling of relational experience (the interaction between the capacity to perceive and some stimuli which may be labeled “what is perceived”). The labeling of identity allows for linguistic constructions like “what is perceived by me, the identity, the capacity to perceive.”

headless god

Alan Watts in 1946 as chaplain at Northwestern University in Chicago, Illinois (USA)

headless

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

