stages of adaptive appreciation

The above audio contains a lot more clarification and information than the text below.

First, people begin innocent. Then, they are trained in how things should be and so become naively presumptive, though that is adaptive relative to the first stage.

Then, if the presumptive way does not work very well, some slight revisions are made in regard to the updated idealism of how things really should be, and now the reformed and refined presumptiveness becomes arrogance (as in self-righteousness). Again, that may be adaptive relative to the prior stage- using a more adapted model of presumptiveness.
Next, after perhaps a few distinct idealisms have been tried and have all failed to correspond to reality, a cynical perfectionism may develop. This is a reaction against all forms of presumptiveness, all models. This is a criticism against all forms of what allegedly should be. This can be called hypocrisy, for it is presuming that presumptiveness about how things should be is what should not be, which implicitly presumes that an innocent naivete is all that should ever be. Again, that may still be more adaptive than prior stages.
However, once that does not work well either, then humility and grace may eventually develop. Then there is an appreciation possible for every stage: naive innocence, naive presumptiveness, arrogant presumptiveness, arrogant cynicism, and humility.
These stages of adaption can be regrouped in to three distinctions: innocence, perfectionism, and humility. Perfectionism includes naive presumptiveness, arrogant presumptiveness, and arrogant cynicism.
We can even look at these as stages of appreciation. Initially, everything is equal. Then, various priorities and values are identified, learned and refined. Then, there is an appreciation for all models and all values and all priorities- just one at a time.
In other words, all of the models and presumptions are recognized as similar in that they are just models and presumptions. In any particular case, one or more models may be most relevant or useful. There can be an appreciation for each model as unique and for all models as only being models. There can be an appreciation for the creation of new models and discarding of old ones and naively or arrogantly clinging to certain ones or rejecting certain others.
Humility and appreciation may be two words for a single adaption. We might even call it “maturity.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “stages of adaptive appreciation”

  1. danijela Says:

    I am just thinking about desperation.
    Desperation is a protest against how life is and how it should be. Desperation is arrogance too.
    Desperate man wants withdraw from everything or wants to crush everything on his way. In this attitude there is no humility and there is no gratitude. Desperate man is like a kid parents disappointed.

    • jrfibonacci Says:

      Yes, desperation is also a form of hope. That may sound odd- like desperation is giving up on hope- but desperation is giving up on a particular hope and is an openness to connect and receive help humbly. There is humility plus urgency in desperation. If an immediate “perceived need” is fulfilled, then the humility may remain without any sense of urgency or excitement or adrenalin hormones (panic), and then we can call that humility without urgency by the name of grace.

      Maturity does not exclude desperation. Maturity of course does not require desperation either. Desperation can come and go. It is welcomed by maturity, but maturity is not especially interested in it- perhaps giving it undivided attention for briefly, then attention shifts, slowly or suddenly.

    • jrfibonacci Says:

      To clarify, we might say that “people should be humble” or “people should be grateful” or “people should not be desperate.” We might even believe all of that. Remember, we are people, too, so if we believe in those ideals about people, that is our own inhibition in relation to our own energy.

      How people should be is how I should be (though I may know that I am not). How people should not be is how I should not be (though I may know that I am).

      Should is tension. Should is resistance.

      That is not “how it should not be.” That is just how beliefs in ideals of should actually operate- as physical tension, as neuromuscular patterns of tightness. These physical symptoms can be physically released or physically increased. Calling them symptoms may be useful in noticing connections between patterns of language (neuro-linguistics) and patterns of muscle activity (neuro-muscular programs).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: